Users of Redash can be members of one or more groups. Each new user is added to the
Default group automatically. Members of
Admin can create new groups, add and remove members from groups, and disable users from accessing Redash entirely. Each group can be connected to specific data sources. Read more about group permissions here.
Creating & Editing Groups
Only members of
Admin can edit or create groups. Go to
Settings > Groups and hit New Group. Type a name for your new group and the continue.
Add users to your new group by typing their names:
You can edit details for a group by clicking its name on the groups list in the settings panel. There you can change its name, add or remove users, or associate it with different data sources.
Admin groups can't be deleted.
You can make any user an admin. Just add that user to the
Admin group. Admins are able to modify data sources, change groups and permissions, disable users, and add further admins. To withdraw admin permissions from a user just remove them from
Admin group by following the instructions above.
Admins can add a user to the
Disabled group from the
Settings screen. Find the user on the
Users tab and click the
Disable button on the right.
Disabled users cannot login to Redash. You can re-enable a disabled user by finding them on the
Disabled tab does not appear unless you have at least one disabled user.